Conversation

24 May

The Husband: You have too many makeup bags

Me: No, I don’t. I only have one.

The Husband: So what is this? And this?

Me: Old makeup in that bag and the other is for accessories like for hair clips and stuff.

The Husband: Then throw away your old makeup bag.

Me: Can’t.

The Husband: Why? You just said it was old.

Me: Yeah, but there’s stuff in there I still use.

The Husband: Then put it in your makeup bag you do use.

Me: No, this makeup bag is for my nice makeup and that’s for my old makeup. There are a few things I still use in it, but I don’t want to put it in the new makeup bag because the stuff in there is newer and I like it looking new.

The Husband: You’re not making sense.

Silence. And then:

Me: Do you know how feminine it sounds for you to be in here talking about makeup bags and girly things with me?

Slight Pause.

He leaves.

When the door shuts I laugh and throw the old makeup bag away. I was going to do it anyway, but arguing with him was more fun.

2 Responses to “Conversation”

  1. Cathy Tibbles May 25, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    I totally get it! I pick to argue than give in most of the time. the only trouble is that it brings out my inner 2 year old, in which I change my mind to purposefully spite him. 🙂

  2. Heather Jones May 25, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    My husband has figured out when I’m arguing with him just for fun. I think the evil smirk that creeps across my face gives me away. Once he see this, he simply tells me “quit messing with me” and walks away. Something for me to work on

Leave a Reply

