Yes, Ma’am I Do Believe I Can Fly

18 May

I’m leaving for Utah next week to attend the Casual Blogger’s Conference in Utah. I will be speaking on a panel about my struggles with depression, plus I’ll be teaching a class about product reviews on blogs. I’m super excited because this will be the first time I’ll be traveling first class and my first trip to Utah.

I know on this trip I will be busy.  I will be promoting my book, public speaking, and trying to cram as much shopping in as humanly possible… but I can’t help but think this one thought: I WILL BE OUT OF ALASKA. It’s been five years since I left the state and that was for a funeral. (Actually, the four times I’ve left the state, two of those trips were for a funeral and the other two were quick two day trips.) So yes, if you see me jumping around, smiling for no reason, and possibly twitching here and there, know it is for one reason only:  I’M LEAVING ALASKA.

My friend Molly* is going with me. She has our entire trip typed neatly on a spreadsheet. This is good for three reasons: 1) I go with the flow and I know I’ll probably miss out or forget something  2) I don’t know how to create a spreadsheet. 3) I’m not good with directions so can you imagine the horror I would endure if I had to drive from Salt Lake City to Sandy for the conference? You may never see me again.

While I’m in Utah I plan on shopping for evening gowns and cocktail dresses that are modest, yet sexy…for next year’s pageant. I want to prove that women can still be sexy and modest at the same time.  (It is UTAH, after all. It can’t be that hard to find a modest evening gown that is sexy, in style, and won’t make me look like a pear.)

I had to borrow my outfits for last Saturday’s pageant. Since I wasn’t competing, I didn’t stress about finding the ‘perfect’ dress, but thanks to my friend ‘Betty Boop’* I was able to look smoking hot in this two piece evening assemble:

I’m the one in front, in case you’re confused… the one wearing the sash, which came in handy since my girls**Olga and Helga were feeling very big that night and the sash kept them for getting too carried away by the spotlight. (They like attention.)

This site is still getting her makeup on and will be looking pretty in no time. Until then…subscribe to my posts and tell your friends! You momma! Your daddy! And whoever else you can bribe that has a thing for reading silly rambles.

*Changed their names. I actually call them these names in my mind though.

** Yes, I named my boobs. Shut-Up.

One Response to “Yes, Ma’am I Do Believe I Can Fly”

  1. Missy May 18, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    I am so glad you are blogging again! (in this format) I have missed you.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

